Thursday, March 19, 2015

ROB|ARCH 2016 Call for Papers and Workshops

Workshops: March 15-17, 2016
Conference: March 18-19, 2016
University of Sydney

The adoption of digital fabrication in creative industries continues to accelerate as the potential for innovation and creative expression using robotics is harnessed. ROB|ARCH 2016 will provide hands-on experience with the most recent robotic technologies and provide a platform for dissemination. It is an opportunity for researchers and industry to exchange expertise, explore methods, compare techniques, and forge new connections.

Rob|Arch is a bi-annual conference series on using robots and robotic fabrication in architecture, art, and design. Initiated by the Association for Robots in Architecture, it links industry with cutting-edge research institutions. In 2012 the conference was run by its founders in Vienna (Austria). In 2014 it was then hosted by the University of Michigan (USA). In 2016, the conference will travel to Australia, where The Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning at The University of Sydney is proud to host the conference. 

ROB|ARCH 2016 brings architects, artists, designers, fabricators, and industry leaders together.

The organizers of Rob|Arch2016 invite authors to submit papers with original research on the use of robots in architecture, art, and design. With the theme "Trajectories", this year’s conference aims to advance the discourse surrounding robotic fabrication and creative robotics, moving on its path toward integrating human-robot interactions informed by sensor input and real-time feedback in diverse environmental conditions.

The Sydney Rob|Arch2016 will occur shortly before Easter 2016, with Dagmar Reinhardt and Rob Saunders of the University of Sydney as conference chairs. They are joined by Marjo Niemelä (University of Sydney), Mari Velonaki and Hank Haeusler (UNSW), Chris Knapp and Jonathan Nelson (Abedian School of Architecture, Bond University), Jane Burry, Roland Snooks, and Nicholas Williams (RMIT), Dave Pigram (UTS), and Tim Schork and Jon McCormack (Monash University) as co-chairs.

No comments: